Warrenpoint Town 1 – 0 Loughgall | Loughgall Football Club

Warrenpoint Town 1 – 0 Loughgall

Champions-elect Warrenpoint Town continued their fine form to see off Loughgall and maintain their unbeaten home run at Milltown. The win was also the Point’s 19th consecutive league game without defeat.

The visitors threatened first after 11 minutes when Marc McConnell’s cross from the left wing found Mark McCullough perfectly however the attacker couldn’t keep his volley on target.

Warrenpoint scored the only goal of the game five minutes before the break. Villagers goalkeeper Gareth Buchanan failed to clear John McGuigan’s cross under pressure and the ball fell kindly to Steven Murray to fire home from close range.

Murray went close nine minutes into the second period with a low shot that was well saved by Buchanan. And Town almost doubled their advantage in the 72nd minute after Murray latched onto a poor Loughgall throw-in to find substitute Lorcan Forde. Forde’s effort, from inside the penalty area, was brilliantly denied by Villagers left-back Jamie Rea.

Loughgall failed to really threaten Warrenpoint’s ‘keeper Steven Maguire however he had to be alert to parry Marcus Dallas’ 25 yard strike in injury-time.

Loughgall: Buchanan, McDonald, Rea, Stewart, Elliott, Dallas, Ferguson, McCullough (Stretton 84m), McConnell (Jack Upritchard 65m), Baker (John Uprichard 72m), Hoey. Unused sub: Smith.

Warrenpoint Town: Maguire, Reilly, Dane, Moan, McKenna, Lynch, Bagnall, McGuigan, Croskery (Traynor 78m), Donnelly (Forde 67m), Murray (Dempster 88m).