Bangor 2 – 1 Loughgall | Loughgall Football Club

Bangor 2 – 1 Loughgall

Loughgall extended their winless streak in the Belfast Telegraph Championship 1 as they were defeated at the hands of bottom side Bangor.

Neither side forced any clear cut chances throughout the game relying on set-pieces for attacking threat. Loughgall went close on 56 minutes when Ricky Copeland rose highest to head Jeff Brady’s corner goalwards however he was denied by a good save from ‘keeper Darren Gibbons. Bangor really should have scored one minute later when Ryan Murray misdirected a free header at the back post following Thomas Lambe’s delivery.

However the Seasiders took the lead on the hour mark when Lambe’s fierce free-kick strike bounced against the underside of crossbar and off the unfortunate Gareth Buchanan in the away goals. Lambe netted his second with 11 minutes remaining when Dean Youle’s long free-kick was flicked onto the wingers path who fired home from inside the penalty area.

Loughgall grabbed a consolation goal late into injury time when Jeff Brady crossed low for Niall Lavery to convert from close range.

Loughgall: Buchanan, Lavery, Brady, Copeland, Stewart, Herron, Finlay, Lindsay (McMahon 72m), Malone, Noble, Boyle. Unused subs: Dobbs, McGarry.
Bangor: Gibbons, Mann (Long 6m), Whitford, Youle, Hylands, Scates, Hall, Cooling, Morrow, Murray (McLaughlin 88m), Lambe. Unused subs: Armstrong, Bowers, O’Hara.