Warrenpoint Town 0 – 1 Loughgall | Loughgall Football Club

Warrenpoint Town 0 – 1 Loughgall

John Guy’s first half goal, capitalising on Town’s ‘keeper Jonathan Parr’s poor clearance, was enough to record Loughgall’s first victory in five games. The win also moves the Villagers up to sixth in the Belfast Telegraph Championship 1 table.

Boss Colin Malone shook up his starting line-up with four changes as Mark Stewart, Jeff Brady, Steven Ferguson and John Guy were brought in. Out went Davy Hawthorne, Gavin Fox and Daryl Flanaghan while Thai Blevins dropped to the substitutes bench.

Loughgall created an early chance, after four minutes, when Alain Emerson won possession before playing a neat one-two with striker Guy. Emerson received the final pass on the edge of the penalty area where he saw his weak shot easily saved by ‘keeper Parr.

An well-worked quick throw in by Warrenpoint’s Gregory Curtis saw Keith Johnston set-up Paudie Smith with a shooting opportunity inside the penalty area on 11 minutes. Smith’s well-struck effort was denied by a great diving save by goalkeeper Marc Robinson.

Town came extremely close again after 24 minutes when Curtis’ corner delivery was somehow headed over by Sean McMullan from close range.

This glaring miss was compounded two minutes later when the visitors took the lead, Parr mishit a clearance from the right-hand edge of his penalty area.  And the ball landed kindly for Guy, 30 yards from goal, who calmly guided his first-time shot into an empty net.

Robinson produced another stunning save to make sure Loughgall kept their advantage two minutes before the break when Smith’s looping header was dropping into the far post only for a wonderful save.

The second half provided little in the way of clear-cut goalscoring opportunities; Town had the best chance on 56 minutes when a goalmouth scramble involving Smith and McMullen was denied three times by the resolute trio of Robinson, Stewart and Greg Hall.

Loughgall: Robinson, Hall, Brady, Stewart, Hull, Doyle, Ferguson, Emerson, Willis (Blevins 45m), Pedlow, Guy (Carson 68m).

Warrenpoint: Parr, Trainor, Crilly, Boyle, Cowan, McParland (O’Connor 68m), Curtis, Smith, Fegan (McAleenan 68m), Johnston, McMullan (Boyle 68m).