Loughgall 0 – 3 Carrick Rangers | Loughgall Football Club

Loughgall 0 – 3 Carrick Rangers

Loughgall fell to a three-goal loss at the hands of title favourites Carrick Rangers at Lakeview Park.

The Villagers welcomed back Darragh Peden, Andy Smith and Scott McCullough into the starting line-up while Alan Murphy had to settle for a place on the substitutes bench.

Carrick Rangers broke the deadlock on 20 minutes when Davy McAlinden slotted home for the penalty area after Andy Ferguson fouled Paul Heatley inside the box.

The visitors doubled their lead just before the break with a well-worked goal as Heatley found Stephen O’Neill with a superb ball that the striker controlled and fired home.

Loughgall enjoyed an improved second period and they came close to netting in the 58th minute after great play by Nathan Baird.  Left-back Baird evaded two defenders before crossing to the front post where Barry Bloomer flicked the ball on and was denied by a superb save from ‘keeper Paul McKane.

Rangers completed the scoring in the 67th minute when winger Heatley received a pass on the left flank and meandered into the centre of the pitch before picking his spot beyond ‘keeper Marc Robinson from 20 yards.

Loughgall: Robinson, Ferguson (Murphy 78m), Baird, Peden, Ebron, McCullough (Finlay 60m), Montgomery (Willis 45m), Smith, Bloomer, Ryan, Coleman.

Carrick: McKane, Murray, Hogan, McClean, N Anderson, McAlinden, Harmon (Rafferty 86m), Deans, O’Neill (Hand 77m), Anderson (McDowell 72m), Heatley.  Unused subs: Stitt, McConnell.

Referee: Raymond Hetherington
Assistants: David Hamilton, Shane Corrigan